You have reached the main content

Comparison of Kafala and Labour Laws across the GCC states

The following factsheets are a comparison of the labour laws and overarching Kafala system in the six GCC states: Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, UAE, Qatar, Bahrain, and Oman.

This does not reflect the latest announcement from Qatar and will be amended once the legislation comes into force.

The factsheets were drafted in collaboration with the ILO Arab Region Office.  All efforts have been taken to accurately reflect the legislative framework within which migrants live and work.  

Click image to download.