You have reached the main content

Bahrain bans issuing work permits to migrants from red-listed countries

On June 14, 2021

Bahrain’s Labour Market Regulatory Authority (LMRA) announced yesterday that it has placed a temporary ban on issuing work permits to migrant workers from Covid-19 red-list countries. 

The LMRA said that the decision is based on directives from Bahrain's National Taskforce for Combating the Coronavirus, adding that the move "aims to contribute to strengthening Bahrain’s tireless efforts to overcome the critical stage of this pandemic”.

The ban also applies to migrant workers who are vaccinated against Covid-19.

Bahrain's National Taskforce for Combating the Coronavirus current red-list countries are:




Sri Lanka



The LMRA confirmed that the countries on the red list are added or removed according to assessments by the National Taskforce for Combating the Coronavirus based on the extent of the virus spread in these countries, adding that this list is reviewed and updated periodically, according to developments.

The ban follows the Bahraini government’s decision last month to restrict entry to Bahrain from the red-listed countries to citizens, GCC nationals, and holders of work permits.

Bahrain has witnessed an unprecedented surge in Covid-19 infections in recent weeks and the country is currently under lockdown.